APBCF Code of Ethics

Part One: Definition of Coaching

Section 1: Definitions

  • Authentic personal brand coaching: Is a commitment to excellence, success in life and happiness. It’s about partnering with clients in a thought-provoking and creative process that inspires them to maximize their potential, which is particularly important in today’s individual age. Authentic personal brand coaching entails a spiritual, measurable, holistic, organic, and sustainable personal development system that help people discover all that is within themselves and based on this to become a powerful authentic personal brand and successful in life.
  • A professional coaching relationship: A professional coaching relationship exists when coaching includes a business agreement or contract that defines the responsibilities of each party.
  • An APBCF Coach: An APBCF Authentic Personal Brand Coach also agrees to practice the APBCF Core Competencies and pledges accountability to the Authentic Personal Branding Code of Ethics.

In order to clarify roles in the coaching relationship, it is often necessary to distinguish between the client and the sponsor:

  • Client: The “client” is the person being coached.
  • Sponsor: The “sponsor” is the entity paying for and/or arranging for coaching services to be provided.

In all cases, coaching engagement contracts or agreements should clearly establish the rights, roles, and responsibilities for both the client and sponsor if they are not the same persons.

Part Two: The APBCF Standards of Ethical Conduct

Preamble: APBCF Coaches aspire to conduct themselves in a manner that reflects positively upon the authentic personal brand coaching profession; are respectful of different approaches to coaching; and recognize that they are also bound by applicable laws and regulations.

Section 1: Professional Conduct At Large

As an authentic personal brand coach:

1) I will always follow the Authentic Personal Brand Coaching Core Competencies.

2) I will not knowingly make any public statement that is untrue or misleading about what I offer as an authentic personal brand coach or make false claims in any written documents relating to the coaching profession or my credentials or the APBCF.

3) I will accurately identify my coaching qualifications, expertise, experience, certifications and APBCF Credentials.

4) I will, at all times, strive to recognize personal issues that may impair, conflict or interfere with my coaching performance or my professional coaching relationships.

5) I will conduct myself in accordance with the APBCF Code of Ethics in all my coaching activities.

6) I will conduct and report research with competence, honesty and within recognized scientific standards and applicable subject guidelines. My research will be carried out with the necessary consent and approval of those involved and with an approach that will protect participants from any potential harm.

Section 2: Conflicts of Interest

As an authentic personal brand coach:

7) I will seek to avoid conflicts of interest and potential conflicts of interest and openly disclose any such conflicts. I will offer to remove myself when such a conflict arises.

8) I will disclose to my client and his or her sponsor all anticipated compensation from third parties that I may pay or receive for referrals of that client.

Section 3: Professional Conduct with Clients

As an authentic personal brand coach:

9) I will make use of validated practices in authentic personal branding strategies and standards.

10) I will work collaboratively with clients and will function as a trustworthy strategic partner.

11) I will continually improve my proficiency in the field of authentic personal branding.

12) I will be honest and truthful in representations to my client, colleagues, and others with whom I come in contact while practicing authentic personal brand coaching.

13) I will not knowingly mislead or make false claims about what my client or sponsor will receive from the coaching process or from me as the coach.

14) I will have clear agreements or contracts with my clients and sponsor(s).

15) I will respect the client’s right to terminate the coaching relationship at any point during the process, subject to the provisions of the agreement or contract.

17) I will suggest my client seek the services of other professionals when deemed necessary or appropriate.

Section 4: Confidentiality/Privacy

As an authentic personal brand coach:

18) I will maintain the strictest levels of confidentiality with all client and sponsor information. I will maintain client confidentiality, not allowing for any conflict of interest that would benefit myself or others.

19) I will have a clear agreement or contract before releasing information to another person, unless required by law.

Part Three: The APBCF Pledge of Ethics

As an APBCF Coach, I acknowledge and agree to honor my ethical and legal obligations to my coaching clients and to the public at large. I pledge to comply with the APBCF Code of Ethics and to practice these standards with those whom I coach.

If I breach this Pledge of Ethics or any part of the APBCF Code of Ethics, I agree that the APBCF in its sole discretion may hold me accountable for so doing.

Approved by the Ethics and Standards Committee on January 15, 2014. Approved by the APBCF Board of Directors on January 25, 2014.

   Authentic Personal Brand Coach FederationAPBCF logo
  www.apbcoachfederation.org

